The International Association ‘Dmitri Shostakovich’

The International Association ‘Dmitri Shostakovich’

The International Association ‘Dmitri Shostakovich’ was created in 1995 in Paris.

Its principal objectives are:

  • to give further value to, and to enhance the universality of the works of Dimitri SHOSTAKOVICH,
  • to contribute to the organisation of conferences, festivals and competitions pertaining to his work
  • to maintain and develop activities at the Paris-based Centre of Contemporary Music and Documentation “Dimitri
    Shostakovich” in order to make available the composer’s archives to the public and specialists alike,
  • to establish a worldwide reference network in all countries where Shostakovich’s work is valued.

The President of the Association is Mrs.Hélène Ahrweiler, President of the University of Europe, President and Director of various cultural centres and international research establishments.

The Board of Directors of the Association includes among others, Mrs. Irina Shostakovich, widow of the composer, and Sir Marcel Landowski (+), Chancellor of the Institute.

The board

President : Hélène Ahrweiler
Vice-president : Irina Chostakovitch
Treasurer : Gilles Durieux
Secretary : Hervé Désarbre


Mesdames Galina Chostakovitch, Galina Vichnievskaya

Messieurs Claudio Abbado, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Maurice Béjart (+), Isaiah Berlin, Rodion Chédrine, Maxime Chostakovitch, Marc Danel, Henri Dutilleux, Bernard Haitink, Lorin Maazel, Yehudi Menuhin(+), Zubin Mehta, Riccardo Muti, Seiji Ozawa, Itzhak Perlman, Alexander Raskatov, Sviatoslav Richter (+), Guennadi Rojdestvenski, Mstislav Rostropovitch (+)